Chinese Muslim Rapper on the tragedy in Japan

Daddy Chang is a Chinese Muslim rapper originally from Canada but is now based in Shanghai. Here is his latest rap in support of the Japanese people regarding the recent tragedy in Japan.

Here are the lyrics and translation from the website ChinaSMACK.

“我的邻居” [“My Neighbor”] Lyrics and English Translations:

[Note: Rap lyrics can be very difficult to translate accurately. Please feel free to offer corrections or suggestions in the comments below.]

CHORUS:
我的邻居,我为你们在祈祷,
My neighbors, I am praying for you,
我希望以后我们别再因为亚洲地位比较
I hope in the future we will no longer compare ourselves over our position in Asia
现在你们是弱者历史我暂时不计较
Right now you are weak, so I will put aside arguing about history for now
但不代表我消除我这防犯心的喜好
though it doesn’t mean I will no longer be against having been attacked

我的敌人,还记得我们汶川地震,
My enemy, I still remember our Wenchuan Earthquake,
当时你们也派了救难队来祖国助阵
at the time you too sent a rescue team to my motherland in support
希望这首歌的古筝能为你带来敷冷
So I hope this song will bring you some comfort
在黑暗冷清的夜里,为你点燃路灯
and in the dark lonely night, give you some light

中国人也是人类我不怕丢这脸面
Chinese are also human, and I’m not afraid of losing this face
没错他们是我们敌人但我无法体现
Yes, they are our enemy, but I am unable to embody
幸灾乐祸这种态度,绝非中华理念!
the attitude of gloating at others’ misfortunes, that is definitely not the Chinese way!
我们代表和平,所以我决定捐献
We represent peace, so I have decided to donate

几张钞票,我包上穆斯林的信件
some cash, wrapped in a Muslim letter,
在送往台湾佛教慈济基金会来应验
and sent to the [Taiwan] Tzu Chi Foundation
当然云南省的捐献十倍以上起点!
Of course, my donation to Yunnan province was 10x and up!
因为血浓于水,这是原则的理念
Because blood is thicker than water, this is principle.

代表己见,我不代表所有的兄弟
Representing myself, I don’t represent all my brothers [fellow countrymen]
因为他们受到的历史挫折还很拥挤!
because the historical setback/hurt they have suffered is still very present [in their hearts]!
我的态度,只代表中华和平风气!
My attitude, only represents Chinese values of peace!
各人坚决反对天灾贺电这种东西
I am personally resolutely against things like celebrating natural disasters

不是勇气,这是一种人类的道德
It is not courage, this is a kind of human morality
让所有不同意的同胞都来骂我好了
Let all my fellow countrymen who disagree come and curse me
但我有责,提高人文的素质法则!
But I have the responsibility, to raise mankind’s character!
作为中国人我代表大汉祝福大和!
As a Chinese person, I represent the Chinese in wishing the best for the Japanese!

CHORUS

因为历史的事实让我们有伤痕,
Because the facts of history has given us scars,
但伤痕的教训不代表能够乱了华夏方寸,
but the lesson of scars does not mean China can lose its mind,
这次的浪狠,让很多的邻居们丧身
This tsunami, has killed many of our neighbors
很很多的家属们的家属尸体们无法葬身
and the bodies of many family members for many families are unable to be buried

就如同我们自己历史里也有的悲剧
Just like the tragedy we ourselves have also had in history
难民营和废墟这些都是我们有过的委屈
Refugees and ruins and the like are all grievances we too have had
但永远的冤冤相报不是孔子的教育
but always holding a grudge is not what Confucius taught
老子还真心希望以德报怨有和平效率
I sincerely hope that repaying evil with good has effectiveness in bringing peace

我们邻居们以前,说中国没素质
Our neighbors in the past, said that China has no character
我现在让你们看到中国人的文化宗旨
I now show you the cultural aims of Chinese people:
天下太平,祈祷全球的食物充实
Peace to the world, praying that the entire planet will have plenty of food
向往和平的发展公式,正念方向走势!
working towards peaceful development, walking towards proper/just principles and goals

我以前骂过很多的哈日朋友汉奸,
In the past I cursed those who admired Japan as traitors,
但他们很多的文化,确实值得参见,
But much of their culture, is indeed worth respecting
就像灾难之后的人民保持的罕见;
Like the rare hope and order maintained by the people after the disaster
希望和次序,是值得我们学习的看点
this is worth us learning from

3 responses to “Chinese Muslim Rapper on the tragedy in Japan

  1. Assalam-o-Alykum & Hi, My name is Muhammad Ata-ul- haq Sultani, You can call me Sultani, I am from Pakistan Karachi & working in Motor Company I have an Idea which I want to share with Chinese People & make friends that My Language is Urdu & I am Very Excellent in Arabic because Urdu is very similar to Arabic Language, So I have an Idea that I want to Teach Holy Quran Shareef to Chinese People on their Mobile Phones or on Skype, MSN, or Yahoo Chatting by voice Video communication, May Allah Wash my Every Sins by doing this procedure.I would Like to make new friends & share knowledge from everybody If any body wants to become my friend please contact me I want to meet chines Muslims & become friends of them please guide me to seek knowledge about china my phone no is 00923003993360 & email address is i.m.sultani@hotmail.com if some one want to give their phone or mobile number please let me know & become my true friends.

    My believe is be happy & live with those people who makes you happy……… 🙂

    Thanks & Regards,

    Muhammad Ata-ul- haq Sultani
    00923003993360
    i.m.sultani@hotmail.com

Leave a comment