86 responses to “Islam in China: Pictures: The Great Mosque of Guangzhou

    • salamz

      this pic reminds me the days when i went to china and visited this mosque…its so beautiful nd got a great history of sahaba karam.there is a small well as well just front of this mosque for drinking sweet water masha allah

  1. SubhanAllah! I have been to this mosque, The interior is so peaceful. This is a great vantage picture!
    It is supposed to be the oldest mosque in China, I forget the year?
    Your blog is very informative and easy on the eye!

  2. mashaAllah, so interesting..jazakAllah kheir for sharing, this whole blog really..

    have an off-topic question, i although not interested in adoption for myself at the time, am curious of how the one child rule works over there for muslim families? is this really a valid law over there, and if so how does this affect the muslims in china where this is not a loved practice in islam? or maybe they are exempt from it? please forgive me for my ignorance on this, but i was reading something that sparked an interest and thought i’d come here and see if you had any knowledge to share..

    keep on enlightening all of us 🙂 may Allah reward you..

  3. Asalaamoalaikum,
    Do you have any suggestions on how to educate kids adopted from china in their muslim heritage?

  4. wa’alaikum’as’salam Aaminah and welcome to the blog

    asqfish, You have been to this mosque! Thats’ great. It is supposed to be more than 1300 years old I believe. I am glad that you liked the blog.

    wa’alaikum’as’salam moneysworthless, Welcome to the blog and insha’Allah I will you around. 🙂

    musicalchef, insha’Allah that day will come soon. Ameen 🙂

    suhaa, Welcome to the blog. The question that you have raised is a very valid question. However I am not knowledgable in this regard. I can try to find out. No luck yet however. 😦

    • Asalaamualaikum

      I am from South Africa and my husband and I will be in Guangzhou from the 9th Jan to the 15th Jan 2010 inshaAllah.We are planning to look at the fashion jewelry and also high end ladies fashion garments at the wholesale markets.Please let me know if you have any info on these products.We are really excited to visit the mosque and also the grave of Saad Ibn Waqaas.We would love to meet our brothers and sisters in islam.

  5. wa’alaikum’as’salam asqfish, Another very relevant question but again I am not knowledgeable enough to answer this question. I will have to think hard about this question. This seems a good idea for a future post.

  6. morsli, sorry for the delayed response. Regarding the hotel, I am not sure.

    wa’alaykum’as’salam, Yes, many of them are really amazing. I wish more people knew about them

  7. Ahhhhhhhhh Alhamdo lellah :))
    I will be visiting Gz soon insha Allah and wanted to know how to get to a Masjid insha Allah 😀
    Thanks for any directions
    🙂
    Salam

  8. wow. may allah spread his house all over the world.
    this is a wonderfull Blog. I look forward to reading more. so wonderfull to hear the muslims voices to( though i am just reading them).

    asaalam

    Nasra.

  9. to the person who asked how they can get to the masjid. My advice to you as a traverl would be that you first get the name of the town/then the name of the masjid/ and then see if they have a contact number and call them. Tell them that you would like to visit the msjd and would like to know how to go about hotels and how to get there.

    hope that ok. I know I thend to go on a bit but i have done a lot of traveling in my time and know a few tricks. thanks to the fab internet. may allah make it easy for you and safe.

    your sister
    umm safwan.

  10. AL and Nasra, As’salam’o’alaikum, My apologies for the late reply. I have been busy with school. Jazak’Allah Nasra for addressing AL’s query. Ameen to your duas. May Allah spread this message all over the world. Ameen

  11. Assalaamualykum
    I would appeciate if any one could forewardthe adress of the great Mosque in Guangzhou as well as where the tomb of Saad bin Abi Waqas R.A. That is if the tomb is not where the mosque is.
    Jazakumullah
    Abdulhuk

  12. Incidently, I will be in Guangzhou between the 22nd and 29th of October and would also appreciate a muslim brother to spend time as a guide. All expenses would be paid. Contact me at showbiz@mweb.co.za.

  13. Assalamu Alaikum Wa Ramahtullahi Wabarkatahu

    I am the editor of a Muslim magazine in Australia. I am from Fiji Islands and I am going to use the picture of the ‘Great Mosque of Guangzhou’ on the cover of our magazine. Is there any brother or sister who can send me a full picture of the ‘Great Mosque of Guangzhou’?
    I will very grateful for your help with this. If you need more information please email me at the following address. mukhtar_sharif@yahoo.com.au

    I am always looking for Muslim Heritage and Ancient Islamic architecture for our magazines covers

    Jazak Allah

    Mukhtar

  14. i was in guangzhou a few weeks ago and it was a great spiritual experience to see muslims from all over the world gather there for the juma prayer….mashallah.
    the roza of Abi Waqas is near the china hotel, or the marriott hotel, then it is just on the side of a huge exhibition centre that is located over there.
    if someone is going there and needs more directions you can write to me on umarjaspal@yahoo.com
    brother mukhtar, i have some pictures from the mosque in guangzhou and if you are still interested please let me know.
    finally, i would like to mention that all the comments here are nice and encouging,,,,which is super

    regards to all…….

    umar

  15. Asalam o alaykum !

    My Name is Arif From Karachi, Pakistan. i see your web site this is wonderful information about Muslims of china. i want to see the Great mosque and tomb of Hazrat saad bin abi waqas RA . is it possible .

    Pls Guide me ..

    awaiting for your kind reply

    Muhammed Arif

  16. walikum salam!

    brother arif, welcome to the site. yes, you can definately see the great mosque and the tomb of Hazrat Saad bin Abi Waqas… i will be in china in April 2009 inshallah again. you can email me directly on umarjaspal@yahoo.com
    i will be able to give you directions to visit the mosque and the tomb.
    the tomb is just close to the CHINA HOTEL, or MARRIOTT hotel….there is a huge exhibition centre closeby, then there is a small road by the exhibition centre, you need to take that road and then that road will convert into a towpath when that happens you will see a stone arch on the right….that is the road.
    when i went to visit the tomb…i saw people reciting the Holy Quran by the grave of Hazrat Saad bin Abi Waqas, and i spent many hours, during which almost all the time people have been coming and reciting the holy Quran by the grave…..this was a very spiritual experience because of the fact that this has been happening for 1500 hundered years even after he has passed away.
    this was not only very inspiring, but this was a profound example of how blessed the Sahabas peace be upon them were.
    if anyone would like to know more, i would be happy to help and guide.

    umar

  17. asak everybody,
    what an informative site. am going to guanzhou next week, inshaallah.where can i eat halal food? jazakallah
    s.

  18. brother, you can find halal food in many places as there are muslim areas.
    there are a few muslim restaurants on beijing road. then you can ask them directions to the mosque.
    normally if you ask the taxi driver he can get a translator over the radio and you can explain where you would like to go, but still there is a communication problem.
    there are some arabic restaurants as well.
    you can go to pizza hut restaurants and eat vegetable garden pizza, or eat fish fillet burger at mcdonalds restaurants just in case if you dont get anywhere.
    try to learn some basic chinese as they hardly speak other languages. you can also buy a small pocket size chinese to english translator which is a very good help is a difficult situation.
    anyway, you will find your way around, and hope that you enjoy your stay.
    regards,
    umar

  19. assalaamu alaikum…kaifal hal?

    hen piaoliang de masjid aa!
    zhongwen de ‘masjid’ shi shenme ne…^_^ ?

    ni hao…
    wo jiao muadz, wo shi inni guo ren (indunixiya).
    wo zhu zai zhong zhaowa.
    zheng zai xuexi hanyu…

    what do you thing about moslem in my country?

    see you…
    salaam ukhuwwah islamiyyah

  20. Assalamu alaikum,
    I am adin from Indonesia, and i am moslem. Now I am in Guangzhou Modern Hospital Accompanying my uncle. I want to go the Great Mosque in here, but i dont know how? can u give me any information?

    I prefer go there by bus, Thank you very much ^^

  21. salam alikom …

    am visitor now for canton fair ..and pls i need help from muslim residents here ..to declare islam of my friend and then to bewittness for our marriage … so pls any one can help me in that send me mail or phone me 13049646813

  22. Assalaamu Alykum All,

    I am planning to visit Guanzhou for 3 days from 30th April to 3rd of May 2009.

    Can anyone who have been to this city, advice me on some good hotels to stay? And some authentic halaal restaurants? Ideally, I am looking for hotels in and around the area of the great Mosque of Guanzhou.

    If possible, please also advice on places to visit within this city from your personal experiences.

    JazaakAllahu khair.

  23. Assalam alikom

    So amazing !!

    I ll try to visit there one day coz it is one of the historical

    heritage of our holy place , Majas .

  24. Assalamu Alaykum.

    Brother and sister in Islam.

    This is verry nice and informative site for China. Especialy
    people who are travling to that part of the world. I’ll tell my brother to visit this great Masjid. he is traveling to Guanzhou this month 16th Aug.

    Wassalam.

    Abdul.

  25. ASAK Brothers n Sisters,

    Ramadan Kareem Mubarak…

    I would be visiting Guangzhou and would like to know directions to the mosque and some good indian/sub continent halal restaurants. Also i would like to know what would the cost to rent an appartment near or around TianHe BeiLu.

    Thanks in advance….

  26. thats awsome b coz china is nonmoslim country and but the attitude of china is not good for muslim.last time chine bame on the pray of juma.thats not good

  27. salaams
    im a muslim travelling from UK to Guangzhou China on around 22nd oct 2009 to 2nd nov 2009
    i need help with halal food and sites to see
    islamically and also islamic businesses and markets
    any help
    email me
    yunusidat@hotmail.com
    yunus

  28. Guangzhou was part of the “Maritime Silk Road” that linked southern China with Southeast Asia, India, the Middle East, and the east coast of Africa. muslim traders introduced Islam into Guangzhou in the before 7th century, making it the site of China’s first mosque and founding a Muslim community that survived down to the present day

  29. Assalamualaikum brothers and sisters,
    In last Ramadhan (1430 H) I’ve been there and have pray at that masjid, very interested. Also at that place, I’ve met some brothers from England, India and Malaysia. I really can feel when one of us said : We are brothers. Yes we are brothers in Islam, we are brothers in same testimony : Lailahailallah, Muhammdurrasulullah.
    Wassalam.

  30. I would know how to go to this Great mosque when one is in international airport of GZ. Would one send me a map with itinerairy and bus number from airport to this mosque.
    Thanks so much wassalamu alaikum
    Abdu

  31. Assalamu Alaykum.
    I Harron.From southern THAILAND.In HATYAI.
    I need some advice or any suggestions from you(brother).

    Now I start learning speak chiness and
    also writing .
    I think after 6 month.I want to go to Guangzhou to
    practice my chiness”speaking .But I don”t know in Guangzhou
    have muslim food or not.I I need like ke stay with the muslim community. For practice chiness lanquese and also it easy for me about pray(solat).I need to stay about 15 days .After that
    I back to THAILAND(BKK).Can u arrange or contact some muslim friend or family or village like ke home stay for me
    to this purpose.And also pls tell me how much they charge in yuan
    tnk a lot
    u kindly

    sie sie ni
    aslamualaikum

  32. Aslam a lakem brother and sisters
    I want to know that there is any centers with Mosques in guangzhou or any kind of free classes or discussion that new muslims can learn about islam.
    if some one know that in guangzhou reply to me , thanks

    • Assalaam ‘alaikum,
      There is many halal foods restaurant in Guang zho we can get. Arround that Guang Zho Great Mosque (Guang Ta Road), or near Abi Waqqas Mousque (Jei Fang Bei Road) we’ll get some Halal Chinese Food, or Midle east Restaurants.
      wassalam.

  33. Assalamu alaikum,

    I was in Guangzhou last week (took the Hexiehao fast train from Shenzhen, takes about 1 hr) and visited the Huaisheng Masjid. Together with the Chinese Musalleen (worshippers), I also met a couple of brothers from Egypt and one brother from Senegal. We ate at the Al-Bostan Muslim restaurant right across the street from the Guangzhou masjid. The food was awesome alhamdulillah, esp. mutton kababs which were some of the best I have ever tasted. From there we went to Masjid Al-Waqas to pray maghrib but it was closed (I think they close after asr every day, don’t ask me why .. :)).

    All in all it was a wonderful experience. As the poet Allama Mohammad Iqbal said in Urdu:

    aik hon Muslim haram ki paasbaani ke liye, neel ke saahil se le kar ta-bakhaak-e-kaashghar
    (May the Muslims unite as Custodians of the Kaaba, from the shores of the Nile to Western China( Xinjiang))

  34. Salam..
    I am from Malaysia, and InsyaAllah i will be in Guangzhou from 8 April to 12, 2010. Can you help me to find the agency of providing muslim chef because i plan to bring them to Malaysia to be my China Muslim Restaurant.
    Actually i was very interested in China Muslim Food and i would like to hire them to be my chef. Can u suggest me which related agency that i can negociate.
    Thanks…

  35. I will be in Guangzhou on the 30th April to attend the Canton Fair. Does anyone know how far is this mosque from the fair and also what time does the jummah prayer begin in this mosque.

  36. salam alaikum,
    subhan Allah beautiful mosque and great peace of architect,well while reading i came across the fact that this mosque was build by saad ibn abi waqqas RA and his grave is also situated in the same compound……..i am not sure how far its true.

  37. ASSLAM O ALKUM
    ALL CHINES MUSLIM HOW ARE YOU
    EVERY BEAT SAYS ALLAH ALL OVER THE WORLD

    SALLAL LA HOE AALA MUHAMMADIN WALAY HE WASALLAM

    HEART SAYS ALLAH
    ALLAH IS NEAR MY HEART

  38. I AM FROM KARACHI PAKISTAN
    I LIKE CHINA
    I LIKE TOMB ALL ALLAH WALI ALLAH
    rafiq284@hotmail.com

    IN KARACHI PAKISTAN TOMB MY GREAT FATHER FRIENDS, TOMB
    HIS NAME, MOHATRAM MUHAMMAD SHAFIQ AHMED SIDDIQ (R-A) HE BORN IN GORAH POOR IN INDIA ,20 NOVEMBER 1912
    1937 BA, 1947 COME PAKISTAN IN SIALKOT VILLAGE, SAHOWALA, MUNDAIR SHARIF, THEN COME KARACHI,

    HIS LATE 2006 16,
    ALL PELPLE PRAYS IN TOMB ALL PEOPLE HAPPY HEALTHY,
    ANY CANCER,HYPTIC,C,B KIDNEY,HEART, MUCH MORE DEASES FREE CHECK UP NOW IN KARACHI NO MONEY ONLY PRAY IN TOMB

  39. Assalam alaikum everyone.

    If anyone needs any help while coming to guangzhou . I would gladly help you . please write to me on momin_shah@hotmail.com for any kind of assistance in guangzhou.
    I can help you find good place for halal food and help you go to all the mosque in guangzhou and also any place for your business and travel.

  40. assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barkatoh

    i am indeed thnkful for every circumstances that would lead me closer to my belief and my religion thank you for the sharings. may ALLAH (SWT) rewards and gives us blessings.

    wassalam

    Burhanuddin from Mindanao, Philippines Allahu Akbar

  41. Assalamualaikum,

    Insha Allah I will visit Guangzhou on March 1 2011, and Huaiseng Masjid is already on the list. Can’t wait to be there.
    Love to all brothers and sister around the world from Indonesia.

    GB,

  42. JE COMPTE INCH ALLAH M INSTALLER ON CHINE A GUANGAZHOU JE DESIRE INCHA ALLAH HABITE PRES LA GRANDE MOSQUE JE DESIRE QLQ UN M AIDER DE TROUVER
    DE LOGEMENT OU QLQ IMFORMATION.
    SALAM

  43. anyone can help me in finding a Chinese translation of the holy quran in Guangzhou or hongkong.thanking you all

  44. InshaAllah hope to visit china in oct 2011 have been to other part of china this time canto InashaAllah syed mohamed Al Kayalan uk

  45. InshaAllah hope to visit china in oct 2011 have been to other part of china this time canton InashaAllah syed mohamed Al Kayalan uk

  46. salamo alaikom
    we are two Muslims resident in china , We were married at the Consulate in Guangzhou. we want to get married Muslim in the mosque, is there someone who can help us please .
    jazakom allaho khayran

  47. InsyaALlah I’ll go to Guangzhou,Shanghai and Hainan to visit and pray at the mosques there especially the oldest mosque in Guangzhou.
    I just return from Shenzen and Hong Kong and have opportunity to pray at Islamic centre Hong Kong and meet fellow muslim there…

  48. Masjid’s address:

    • Add: No. 56, Guangta Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou
    • Tel: 020-83333593
    • Location: Near Zhongshan Sixth Road and Jiefang Road

  49. Masjid’s address where

    • Add: No. 56, Guangta Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou
    • Tel: 020-83333593
    • Location: Near Zhongshan Sixth Road and Jiefang Road

  50. Assalamualaikum, All brother and sister , My Name is Dedy from Indonesia, we have a travel to guangzhou on next may 20, if you dont mind can you give us the detail address that location ?

  51. as salaam mualaikum
    just to correct the misconception of the grave of saad bin abu waqas.

    it is the grave of his father and not him

  52. Assalamu Alaikum,

    I would like to visit this place next week.
    Can anyone give me map of this, how it far from GZ main subway station.
    Pls help to advise, thanks.

  53. Assalamu Alaikum wr,wb.
    I;m your muslim brother, I’m in Indonesia so when i saw your mosque pict it’s so wonderful and i hope some times to visit your county…Insya Allah…

  54. ASSALAMUALAIMUM,
    IS THIS THE MOSQUE, which were build by Syech Abi Wakosh, uncle of Prophet Sayidina MUHAMMAD Rasululloh SAW?
    kindly inform me the address, i plan to visit GZ, end of January 2013, Insya ALLAH
    WaAlaikumsallam Wr.Wb
    hardjoko

  55. Alasalam Alaikum

    Me and my brother will be in Guangzhou from 15 OCT to 25 OCT. We were wondering if any muslim family offer home stay? We are willing to pay the demanded price, but we will require and appreciate halal food and additional cost may be paid if required.

    Barka Allah fekum

  56. If you follow his advise you will be happy. His name is our Prophet Muhammad (sm.) So that, Everyday Daw’a Illallah Ingsha- Allah. Kalema, Namaz, Ilm and Zikir, Ekramul Muslimeen, Tashi- hay Niot And Daw’atay Tabligh. This is Very Very Important Qualitys for Every Peoples.

  57. i have been there too,,,,,how beautiful were those days when i entered from outside into this mosque ……..totally different feelings when entered into the mosque…that much peace of mind……

  58. al-salam alikum brothers and sisters
    my name is wael , i am now in Nanjing and making some research about Chinese mosques so if there is any body can help me to find the plan of the old mosque in china please contact me with the e-mail : wael_alhasan2008@yahoo.com
    or phone number :008618551612429

Leave a comment