Xiao’erjing: Chinese Language in Arabic Script

xiao-er-jin.jpg

Xiao’erjing 小儿经/小儿锦 is the name given to the Arabic script when it is used to write any of the Chinese Languages by Chinese Muslims of different ethnicities and also by the Dungan (descendants of Chinese Muslims in Central Asia). The Dungans were however forced by the Soviets to convert to the Cyrillic script. Xiao’erjing should not be confused with Sini style of Arabic calligraphy developed by the Chinese Muslims. Xiao’erjing is mainly used for annotating religious texts. The Research Institute for Languages and Cultures in Japan has a repository of Xiao’erjing texts online.

P.S: Most of the website is in Japanese. It would be great if a Japanese speaker could enlighten us more about the website.

7 responses to “Xiao’erjing: Chinese Language in Arabic Script

  1. wa’alaikum’as’salam, In addition to letters from Arabic and Farsi, Xiao’erjing has four extra letters. Additionally there are extra marks for pronunciation. Also Arabic as well as Chinese punctuation marks can be used with Xiao’erjing.

  2. Assalamualaikum.
    Keep going writing sis/bro.I’m a malaysian.Most exactly i’m a muslim from malaysia.Now i’m still studying in Japan.I love to know more about islam,especially outside in my hometown.When i search the google,it bring me in to this site.Alhamdulillah.Could you suggest to me others blog or website in china? Islamic-chinese-blog or website.Welcome to my site,insyaAllah.But since now,i has been wrote it in malay language.Douzo kiite kudasai.
    Wassalam.

  3. Dear Wang Daiyu,

    I’m in love with a fine Chinese lady and as usual in your country, she is not a believer. I would appreciate it very much if you can provide me Hz. Mohammed’s (s.a.v.) life in Chinese, so she can read and learn more about the path to Allah. I want her to take the first step by beginning to learn about our prophet. I don’t want to force her to believe, just want to open her heart by God’s permission. So, please send me some enlightening information about our prophet’s life and how Islam started in plain Chinese.

    I thank you very much in advance and wish you the best in your efforts.

    Sincerely,

    Hayati Bayik

    P.S. Please keep this message confidential and do not post it in the internet.

Leave a comment