Islam in China Blog: 10 Months Later

(A Hui Muslim Source: Vladimir Dinets Travel Site)

Time flies. The Islam in China blog has been up for 10 months now and the response has been overwhelmingly positive. 50,000 hits later it is time to reflect and chart out a course for the future. My schedule and commitments in the offline world are such that there is usually not enough time to reply to e-mails or reply to comments on time and so more often than not I end up doing so in bulk instead of on a regular basis. Grad school can be very time consuming. Thus I would like to apologize to people who leave commets and/or have sent e-mails and I have taken a long time to respond. This is is something that I would like to remedy soon insha’Allah. Right now there are more than 85 drafts which I have not posted yet which means that there enough material to post.

Here are some ideas for the future. There are some people who have regularly commented on this blog. Their input is greatly appreciated. Insha’Allah I will add a blogroll soon. Regarding correspondence I will also revisit all the comments from the past and address some of the questions in detail. Don’t be surprised to get an e-mail from me. Insha’Allah I want to do a number of series posts in the future. Here is a list of what I have in mind. Given my schedule I do not know when I will get a chance to do so.

  • Complete the FAQs
  • The convergence of Chinese Philosophy and Islamic Thought
  • History of Islam in China Series
  • Chinese Muslims in Malaysia
  • Dawah amongst the Chinese
  • Bibliography of Islam and China in English
  • Chinese Muslim Converts

Regarding the last item, even though there is much material on this subject, it would be useful if the material was more accessible for people outside of academia. In summary I think we have a good thing going on here. As always if reader have suggestions or if they like to see anything in particular in the future then please let me know. I can be reached at wangdaiyu [at] gmail [dot] com.

And last but not least for all brothers (I say brothers because I have not received any queries from any sister.) e-mailing me about wanting to find a Chinese girl to marry I would like to say that if I knew how to find the right woman then I would not be single myself. Haha. Just kidding. 🙂

18 responses to “Islam in China Blog: 10 Months Later

  1. Could you please tell something about yourself, what do you do, where you live, your biography sort of ?

  2. btw you mentioned “Dawah amongst the chinese” isn’t proselytizing illegal in china and then how come people convert ?

  3. Salaam

    mubarak – 50k hits in 10 months is an impressive achievement. I am glad to have you aboard Talk Islam and I hope you are finding value init to help promote your work here.

  4. As-salaamu’alaykum wa Rahmatu Llahi wa Barakatuhu,

    I pray your classes go well.

    Look forward to reading more in the future, insha’Allah.

    Wa’alaykum as-salaam
    Farhana

  5. tabman, for starters I am a graduate student and live in USA.

    tabman, Well, yes, kind of. However more than 50,000 Chinese students come to USA or other countries. Millions of Chinese people live in other countries. The point is that many of them would be quite receptive to Islam. Besides the best form of dawah is to just act in the manner that a good Muslim is supposed to behave and other people will convert automatically. 🙂

    Aziz wa’alaikum’as’salam, Thanks for the kind words. Yes TalkIslam is a very intersting place. I seem to find a lot of good and interesting stories there.

    Redwan wa’alaikum’as’salam, Thanks for the offer.

    Farhana wa’alikum’as’salam’wa’rahma’tullah’wa’barakatahu, Jazak’Allah for your duas. Sometime graduate work can make one really busy but its all good. 🙂

    asqfish, Thank you for you kind words. insha’Allah I will write in detail soon.

    supermance wa’alaikum’as’salam, Thanks and welcome to the blog!

  6. Dear Wang Daiyu,

    As-salaamu’alaykum wa Rahmatu Llahi wa Barakatuhu

    I wanted to say how amazed I was to find your article “Chinese Muslims in Turkey: The Story of Fatma Wang” on google (of all places) whilst researching for some details of my relatives in Turkey.

    Cin Lokantasi is very special to my heart as it is where I used to run around as a toddler when I used to live in Istanbul with my mother (Fatima Wang is my step-grandmother who I still remember very dearly as well).

    I would be delighted to hear from you if it is possible.

    • Hi Julide, Jemima’s partner. I was trying to help her re-establish contact with you but you seem very elusive online. If you somehow return to this site – albeit 5 year on – and see this you may want to look jemima up – she is more easily found online 🙂

  7. Assalamualaikum,

    Getting 50,000 hits within 10 months proves to show that your blog on Islam among the Chinese is on the right track.

    I am particularly fond on the subject of “Chinese Muslims in Malaysia” since that’s where I reside and I don’t normally hear much about Chinese Muslims here, besides from MACMA and PERKIM. Apart from that, the next topic that fascinates me is “The convergence of Chinese Philosophy and Islamic Thought”.

    Regardless, kindly attend to your commitments in the offline world and I hope for the best in your graduate school.

    PS: Can’t help but chuckle on your last paragraph. 🙂

  8. Said Bak, waheed m, Thanks for the kind words.

    wa’alaikum’as’salam’wa’rahmatuallah Judlie, Wow, that is amazing. Good to have on the blog. You can e-mail me at wangdaiyu@gmail.com

    wa’alaikum’as’salam’wa’rahmatuallah Hajar Alwi, Welcome to the blog and thank you for the kind words. A lot of things to cover here. The case of Chinese Muslims in Malaysia is especially interesting because of the intersection of religion, race, ethnicity, language and thus the question of identity.

  9. Assalamu aleikum Brother,

    I just stumbled upon your blog while looking for a picture for an article on my Swedish blog mentioning the ban on fasting in certain areas of the Xianjiang province as mentioned here http://www.iht.com/articles/2008/09/08/asia/ramadan.php

    If you do not mind, I would like to use the picture your post on our website: http://forumforfrihet.blogspot.com/

    Please let me know if that is a problem.

    Good luck and keep up the wonderful blog. I have linked it on our website for Swedish Muslims and non Muslims to learn.

    • assalamu alaikum.
      iam mohamed iqbal from india..iam importing mobile phone from china..one chinese girl want to marry me..so i told her to accept and follow islam,,she said ok.but she dont know how to learn about islam since she dont have any idea or source to learn.she told me that i can teach her after marriage.but i want to marry her atleast with basic islamic knowledge.so as u r a chinese i seek for ur help.look for ur reply..jazakallah

Leave a Reply

