A Chinese Ninjabi

Ninjabi seems to be a peculiarly American Muslim term which means a hijabi who looks like a ninja. Here is picture of a Chinese Muslim sister who looks like a ninjabi from Flickr that someone set me.

11 responses to “A Chinese Ninjabi

  1. Pingback: A Chinese Ninjabi·

  2. Pingback: A Chinese Ninjabi·

  3. Pingback: » Indscribe marvels at the survival of the … Talk Islam·

  4. Assalamualaikum,

    Subhanallah, great site. I have this craving to travel this part of world since reading Ibn Battuta’s Rihla.

    May God reward you the best,
    islaminus

  5. Is it truly a Hijab, or just for the cold?

    I wonder the same things. Interesting though. A lot of Muslim Sisters tend to do that with their Hijab, with the left cloth. It’s actually pretty convenient in some circumstances.

  6. abunakhli, That is a good question but I do not know who coined it. I first heard it in USA so i am guessing that it has its origin in the US.

    wa’alaikum’as’salam Islam in Us, Welcome to the blog. I am glad that you liked it. Lets hope and pray that you make it to China. Remember me in your duas

    Daravish, lol, you are a funny guy.

    wa’alaikum’as’salam’wa’rahmatullah asqfish, Hmmm … good question. I am not sure abot that.

    veiled muslimah as’salam’o’alaikum, I did not know about that. Thanks for enlightening us. 🙂

  7. Salam to all,

    I am very happy to read this site, I just wish I had found it before I left for China last september!

    I am muslim of moroccan origins, born and raised in France.
    Working a lot, too much, I decided I would be off during ramadan and decided to travel during that period. My objective is threefold: fast ramadan (we now cut the fast at 10.30pm in France and you see fewer and fewer muslims actually fasting..) without feeling frustrated about work; see how muslims of the world live their faith especially during holy ramadan and know more about cultures.

    Since sept 06, I thus went to Indonesia, Malaysia, Dubai, Saudi Arabia and China so far.

    Regarding China, I remembered a class during college (I studied chinese…a bit :=), and had heard about muslims leaving there. I then decided to do a trip to/from major muslim cities:
    beijing, lanzhou, jiayuguan, dunhuang, xi’an, kunming, shenzhen etc…I cut fast in mosques, with muslim huis and it was just an unbelievable experience. the chinese Hui food is also well known and tasty!! there is a lot to see so I will definately come back insh’allah.
    Next trip: Ouzbekistan inchallah..

    I hope I will get a chance to see most of the Beauty God has created on earth, for us to see, understand, learn and believe. When I see mountains or seas, it reminds me how small we are, how vain is our knowledge. My favorite saying is the one you have wrotten but slightly differs: “Seek knowledge, even if it is in far away China”. We, as Muslims, have the obligation to UNDERSTAND the most possible things, even if it has to take us far away..and travelling helps to have a broader view, understand and respect differences even among islamic countries.

    Since my first ramadan trip to Indonesia, I have never felt hunger or pain again, although I slept no more than 2 hours per night and climbed mounts. I will remember for example, until my last day on earth, how awkward I felt on the hills of the Kawa Ijen; Java island in indonesia… all these muslims carrying over 70kg of sulphur on their shoulders, wearing tongs and descending into an inferno of gas and smells for many kms (http://www.tripalbum.net/kawa-ijen/)… have an indecent and tiring job and still keep up with your faith is just amazing and humble….since that day, I felt morally stronger. I can do a 2 days trek in the jungle, walk 10 kms a day with bloodsuckers, humidity and thirst with no problem! :=) :=)

    So in a nutshell, if you ever feet the need to meet with your muslim fellows across the globe, I may be of help!

    Take care,

    ma’a salama

    Asmaa

  8. wa’alaikum’as’salam Aasma, Welcome to the blog sister. Wow that is is a very interesting story. May Allah reward you for seeking out more Muslims and increase you knowledge. Insha’Allah I will remember you comments.

    Wang Daiyu

Leave a Reply

