Muslims and Chinese Rocket Technology in the time of Kublai Khan

While it is widely known that the Chinese were instrumental in inventing explosives and in advancing early rocket technology, it is less known that during the time of Kublai Khan Turkish Muslims were instrumental in helping the Mongols in conquering China and advancing this technology and building siege weapons. According to Muslim Heritage, between 1271 and 1273 Kublai Khan employed two Turkish Muslim engineers Alaadin and Ismail (I-ssu-ma-yin in Chinese sources). These two were instrumental in building ballistic weapons used in the siege and conquest of Hang-Chow and Hsiang-yang. The Chinese sources mention that when the weapons built by Ismail were fired “the earth and the skies shook and the cannons were buried seven feet into the ground.” The sons of both these engineers also worked for the Mongols.

11 responses to “Muslims and Chinese Rocket Technology in the time of Kublai Khan

  1. Assalam-o-Alykum, how r u?

    My name is Muhammad Ata-ul- haq Sultani, You can call me Sultani, I am from Pakistan Karachi & working in Motor Company I want to meet chines muslims & become friends of them please guide me to seek knowledge about china my phone no is 00923003993360 & email address is i.m.sultani@hotmail.com if some one want to give their phone or mobile number please let me know & become my true friends.

    My belive is be happy & live with those people who makes you happy……… :)

    thanks & regards,

    Muhammad Ata-ul-haq Sultani

  2. Assalam-o-Alykum,
    How r u Brothers & Sisters?

    My name is Ata, & I M from Pakistan Karachi I would Like to make new friends & share knowledge from everybody If any body wants to become my friend please contact me at i.m.sultani@hotmail.com or call me at 00923003993360

    thanks

  3. Assalam-o-Alykum,
    How r u?

    I have an Idea which I want to share with Chinese People & make friends that My Language is Urdu & I am Very Excellent in Arabic because Urdu is veri similar to Arabic Language, So I have an Idea that I want to Teach Holy Quran Shareef to Chinese People on their Mobile Phones or on MSN, or Yahoo Chatting by voice communication, May Allah Wash my Every Sins by doning this procedure.

    Contact me on 00923003993360

    email ID is i.m.sultani@hotmail.com

  4. Muslims were at the forefront of science and technology. They were one of the catalysts behind the renaissance in europe through their contact in muslim spain.

    It’s a shame now that there is a braindrain in the muslim world, whereby the most accomplished muslim scientists are making hijra to the richer western nations to apply their trade.

  5. mashallah are turkish muslim brothers have left such a bueatifull example for all of us //// muslims its time to rise ////
    when i mean rise i mean devolop more better inventions that will bring the world more information, lets be the top romodels , we are muslims , we should be thankful for that , i am proud to be one all of should
    asalamu aleykum wa rahmetullahi wa barakatuhu.

Leave a Reply

