Chinese Muslim Store in Kunming

chin4913

Image Source:  Terragaleria

Caption:  Store owned by a woman of the Muslim community. Kunming, Yunnan, China

5 responses to “Chinese Muslim Store in Kunming

  1. Assalam Aleykoum wa Rahemtullah wa Berakatuh,

    Dear Wang Daiyu,

    A while go I took a Chinese history class titled “The Rise of Modern China.” It was an interesting class. We read some primary sources. What was most interesting is the Muslim and Christian rebellions in the late half of the 19th century. I already knew something about the Hui Muslims, but I did not know that there was a sizable Muslim population in Yunnan. In the 19th century they proclaimed an independent sultanate when Qing Dynasty was about to collapse. Tell us more about the Yunnan Muslims and how (if at all) they differ from other Muslims in China.

    Damir

  2. Assalam o alikum ,
    I am from Pakistan and visiting China for some time.. Please contact me I need some guidence and help

    TaKE Care
    Allah haffiz

  3. wa’alaikum’as’salam Huma, Sure I just sent you an e-mail. Alternatively you can directly contact me at wangdaiyu [at] gmail [dot] com

    Wang Daiyu
    Editor: Islam in China

  4. salam….my name is martin

    Im planning to visit kunming hopefully to look for a muslim girl to get married.

    Is there ant way u can assist me?

    I can be reached via email. bharoocha70@hotmail.com

    hope to hear from u soon. thank u….

Leave a Reply

