Integrating Ancient Chinese Philosophy and Islamic Business Principles

I came across this presentation on Chinese work ethics and Islamic business principles on a blog by almost an accident. The author is actually non-Muslim Indonesian resident. The main thrust of the argument is that the Chinese business and work ethics which is based on Confucian principles and Islamic business principles which are based on the Quran and the Sunnah converge on a large number of things and thus there is no conflict between the two. The presentation and the link is here.

As a side note: There is a whole body of literature on the convergence between Islamic values and Confucian values in the Chinese literature but that is a topic for another day. Confucius’ Analetics was also translated in Arabic by a Chinese Muslim scholar in the 1960s.

6 responses to “Integrating Ancient Chinese Philosophy and Islamic Business Principles

  1. Asalaamoalaikum,
    The presentation is very interesting. Thank you for posting it.

    As you are aware Imam Abu Hanifa was a merchant and had the ten golden rules of business, this is listed in an english CD set called “The four great Imams” from Islamic bookstore.com.

    I have always wanted to print them out, but havent had the time to do it.
    May Allah reward you for posting this information.

  2. wa’alaikum’as’salam Brother Abdullah, Thanks! It may be a while but I will get to it insha’Allah.

    wa’alaikum’as’salam asqfish, Being fair in business is one of the utmost responsibilities of Muslim. Historically Muslims in China have been associated with being businessmen.

  3. Assalamu alaikum,
    Thank you very much for this website. I am a Chinese Muslim convert but having grown up in a “western” country I sometimes feel rather distant from my roots. But what drew me to Islam was certainly the amazing similarity between Islamic values and what I knew to be traditional Chinese values — respect for parents and the like. So I am very interested in this topic also. I can’t wait for this “other day” either. Thank you!

  4. Yours is noteworthy blog and I really like it.
    I am 26 year old American Woman and I do Wedding Planning and wedding coordination, wedding decoration.
    I write on different wedding and photography related issues.
    I would really appreciate if you can provide some Information on Chinese Muslim wedding and Islamic Wedding traditions.
    I would expect some basic Information on this topic so that I can post in my blog on Chinese Muslim weddings.

    Thanks

    Firebug4u(at)gmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

